2005 calendar now available

Skills Development Workshops

Debbie Engelbrecht Communications

Bookmark This Site
Keeping it Simple

We have found that a number of our clients are uncertain about the claiming procedure when it comes to the Skills Development Levy.

You contribute to the Skills Development Levy every month along with your UIF and PAYE contributions.

This SDL was implemented by the SA government to provide a monetary incentive for companies to train their staff. You train, you pay (the trainer and SDL), you claim back 65% of your training costs from the SETA.

Links you may find helpful:

A list of SETAs

Claim Forms

The BEE Act of 2003-2004

How do you claim back your training expenses?

Do you contribute SDL every month and not know how to go about claiming from the SETAs?

Claiming made easy.............

Appoint a Skills Development Facilitator.
This is a person (internal or external) who wil

l be responsible for identifying the training requirements inside your organisation.

The SDF must submit a plan to your SETA. This plan is called a Workplace Skills Plan.

Now simply implement your plan. For example you will send 5 of your junior managers on our "Developing Management Potential" workshops.

At the end of the year, submit an Annual training report (ART) to your SETA, specifiying your compliance with your own Workplace Skills Plan.

This qualifies you for a 65% rebate on funds contributed to the SDL.

There are some additional criteria that are brought into the equation.
For example is your training provider accredited with SETA or pending accrediation?

seminars home page

phonebooth home page

learnandearn home page

our 2005 training dates to assist you with your WSP

Making it Simpler!

- Adult Basic Education and Training
BCEA - Basic Conditions of Employment Act
CCMA - Commission for Conciliation Mediation and Arbitration
DoL - Department of labour
EEA - Employment Equity Act
ESDA - Employment and Skills Development Agency
ETDP - Education and Training Development Practitioner
ETQA - Education and Training Quality Assurance
HRD - Human Resource Development
HRDS - Human Resources Development Strategy
IIP - Investors in People
ILO - International Labour Organisation
LRA - Labour Relations Act
LSS - Learnership Support Service
LMSDP - Labour Market Skills Development Programme
MOA - Memorandum of Agreement
MOU - Memorandum of Understanding
NEDLAC - National Economic Development and Labour Council
NEF - National Economic Forum
NQF - National Qualifications Framework
NSA - National Skills Authority
NSB - National Standards Body
NSDS - National Skills Development Strategy
NSF - National Skills Fund
OBE - Outcomes Based Education
PFMA - Public Finance Management Act
RDP - Reconstruction and Development Programme
RPL - Recognition of Prior Learning
SAQA - South African Qualifications Authority
SARS - South African Revenue Service
SDA - Skills Development Act
SDF - Skills Development Facilitator
SDLA - Skills Development Levies Act
SDPU - Skills Development Planning Unit (DoL)
SETA - Sector Education and Training Authority
SGB - Standards Generating Body
SIC - Industry Code
SME - Small Medium Enterprise
SMME - Small, Medium and Micro Enterprise
SOC - Standard Occupational Category
SP - Service Provider
SSP - Sector Skills Plan
WSP - Workplace Skills Plan
WSPIG - Workplace Skills Implementation Grant
WSPIR - Workplace Skills Plan Implementation Report
WSPAT - Workplace Skills Plan After Training Report